Congress of the United States Mashington, DC 20510

December 10, 2024

Vice Admiral Yvette M. Davids Superintendent United States Naval Academy 121 Blake Road Annapolis, MD 21402

Lieutenant General Steven W. Gilland Superintendent United States Military Academy 606 Thayer Road West Point, NY 10996

Dear Vice Admiral Yvette M. Davids and Lieutenant General Steven W. Gilland:

We are writing to express our concern and seek clarification regarding the decision to deny the inclusion of a full-page advertisement honoring Major James Capers in the commemorative program for the upcoming 125th anniversary of the Army-Navy football game.

Major Capers, a distinguished Marine veteran and Medal of Honor nominee, embodies the values of courage, dedication, and sacrifice that our service academies strive to instill in their cadets and midshipmen. As a pioneer and hero, his story serves as an inspiration to all who aspire to serve our nation. Recognizing him in the commemorative program for such a historic event would have been a fitting tribute to his legacy and contributions.

Given the significance of this anniversary and the values our military institutions uphold, we are deeply troubled by this decision. We respectfully request a detailed explanation as to why this advertisement was not permitted and whether there were specific guidelines or criteria that led to this outcome. Transparency in this matter is essential to ensure that the legacy of our nation's heroes is appropriately honored in future events.

We look forward to your response and remain hopeful that this matter can be clarified in a manner that reflects the respect and appreciation Major Capers has earned through his remarkable service to our country. Moreover, since the program has already gone to print, we are inquiring of other ways we can recognize this American hero at the game.

Thank you for your attention to this important matter, and we request a response by Thursday, **December 12, 2024**. Please do not hesitate to contact us sooner should you require additional information or wish to discuss this matter further.

Sincerely,

onnen

Ralph Norman Member of Congress

Joe Wilson Member of Congress

7 Nu

Troy Nehls Member of Congress

Murs

Morgan Griffith Member of Congress

man

Jeff Duncan Member of Congress

Josh Brecheen Member of Congress

Keith Self Member of Congress

Eric Burlison Member of Congress

Tim Burchett Member of Congress

Diana Hansh

Diana Harshbarger Member of Congress

Scott Perry Member of Congress

Greg F. Murphy, M.D. Member of Congress

Chip Roy Member of Congress

Rov

Pete Sessions Member of Congress

Mike Bost Member of Congress

Gary Palmer Member of Congress

Andy Ogles Member of Congress

Kevin Hern Member of Congress

Wan Bishop

Dan Bishop Member of Congress

Banglunder

Barry Loudermilk Member of Congress

mary E Miller

Mary Miller Member of Congress

long Lambour

Doug Lamborn Member of Congress

ianc

Eli Crane Member of Congress